When Breath Becomes Air

书名:When Breath Becomes Air
作者:PaulKalanithi
译者:
ISBN:9780812988406
出版社:RandomHouse
出版时间:2016-1-12
格式:epub/mobi/azw3/pdf
页数:256
豆瓣评分: 9.0

书籍简介:

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

作者简介:

Paul Kalanithi, M.D., was a neurosurgeon and writer. Paul grew up in Kingman, Arizona, before attending Stanford University, from which he graduated in 2000 with a B.A. and M.A. in English Literature and a B.A. in Human Biology. He earned an M.Phil in History and Philosophy of Science and Medicine from the University of Cambridge before attending medical school. In 2007, Paul graduated cum-laude from the Yale School of Medicine, winning the Lewis H. Nahum Prize for outstanding research and membership in the Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society. He returned to Stanford for residency training in Neurological Surgery and a postdoctoral fellowship in neuroscience, during which he authored over twenty scientific publications and received the American Academy of Neurological Surgery’s highest award for research.

Paul’s reflections on doctoring and illness – he was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer in 2013, though he never smoked – have been published in The New York Times, The Washington Post and The Paris Review Daily, in addition to interviews in academic settings and media outlets such as MSNBC. Paul completed neurosurgery residency in 2014. Paul died in March, 2015, while working on When Breath Becomes Air, an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.. He is survived by his wife Lucy and their daughter Cady.

书友短评:

@ 蓝玉 这类型personal的书,只适合在非常想要寻找意义的阶段去阅读和思考。这不是一款给人谈资,闲聊的书。 @ ashes要内爆 雄心壮志地出发,有几个精彩的片段,却被过分膨胀的自恋毁了。 @ 华氏66度的桑闪 sad, heavy, readable, engaging, life and death, thought provoking @ dotann 第一次听有声书,不太习惯朗读者的拿腔拿调,让文字失去了想象空间。这本书的内容和视角都比较个人化,很感人但内容略微单薄,文笔也有点生硬,也许是时间所迫。敬佩作者的勤奋专注,这是面对死亡能做出最有力的反击。 @ 咖啡 What's the meaning of life? What is the meaning of job? Am I doing meaningful things with my life? Paul gave his answers to these questions through his dedication to thinking, reading and caring for t… What's the meaning of life? What is the meaning of job? Am I doing meaningful things with my life? Paul gave his answers to these questions through his dedication to thinking, reading and caring for the patient. What about the rest of us? @ SDNEIRF 读了那么久了,还没读完,不想读了。怪不好意思的 @ 痞子笛 #audiobook 斯坦福7年级前途无量的神经科手术师的自传,他前途一片大好的时候发现自己患有肺癌,与之抗争最后不幸英年早逝。书并没有写完作者就过世了,有夫人写的后记让人潸然泪下,听完容易让人depressing,并没有我想象中的很多对于死亡与生命思考。时长5小时35分。2020年度听书累计时长122时52分 @ Yohji 尽管从翻开的第一页就准备着面对Paul的死亡,但是Epilogue的到来还是让我猝不及防,失声痛哭,这样一个伟大灵魂的陨落太让人难过了。他对精神世界的生物学基础问题的好奇,他寻求弥合科学和宗教的尝试,于我何其亲切。多希望他在世上有更多的时间啊。也许他太宝贵了却不懂得休息,老天只好直接收走来照顾他了。如果有机会,我想去他墓前看看他。 @ 次鹅 He worked hard to secure my future. At the same time, I worked hard to secure his present, to make his remaining time the best it could be. 被深深的感动了 @ 小咿子 后记听着真的太难过了。以前曾跟对象说,如果我得绝症了,不用为我花精力花钱。对象想了一会儿说,等到时候再说,别想太多。这想法在读完这本书之后有点改变,现在有自己的小家,我可能也想多陪他们一会儿。

添加微信公众号:好书天下获取

分享到: 更多 (0)

评论 抢沙发

  • 昵称 (必填)
  • 邮箱 (必填)
  • 网址